Ohio State nav bar

Savko Awards for Undergraduates

The Center for the Study of Religion offers two annual awards for the undergraduate study of religion. The fund was established by Maureen “Mo” Savko and Carlotta “Cory” McCowen in honor of their mothers, Anna Marie Savko and Cora Lee Banks.

Undergraduate Research Grant

This is an undergraduate research grant for $500. Any undergraduate research project relating to the academic study of religion is eligible, including senior theses, honors' theses, or other large projects relating to a religious studies course.

Students should submit:

  • A short, 1-2 page project proposal
  • A brief, 1-page budget
  • A letter of recommendation from an OSU faculty member 

All completed application materials should be compiled and emailed to religion@osu.edu

NEW DEADLINE: The application deadline for the 2024 calendar year will be April 5, 2024.


Best Undergraduate Paper

A $500 prize for the best undergraduate paper relating to the academic study of religion. The paper must have been written as part of an OSU course and may be submitted either by a faculty member or by the student directly. Papers may come from either fall or spring semester.

All papers wishing to be adjudicated should be emailed to religion@osu.edu

The application deadline for the 2024 calendar year will be December 17, 2024.  The award winner will be announced at the beginning of the 2025 Spring term. 

Previous Savko Award Recipients:

Undergraduate Research Grant

  • 2023-2024 — Anais Fernandez Castro
  • 2022-2023 — Claire Dolan
  • 2021-2022 — Jordan Vann
  • 2019-2020 — Jordan Baggs
  • 2018-2019 — Amanda Dominique
  • 2017-2018 — Chris Newman
  • 2016-2017 — Michelle Sdao

Best Undergraduate Paper

  • 2022-2023 — Daniel Rich
  • 2021-2022 — Jordan Vann
  • 2020-2021 — Rose McCandless
  • 2019-2020 — MacKenzie Wilcox
  • 2018-2019 — Nathan Hensley
  • 2017-2018 — Michelle Sdao
  • 2016-2017 — Dillon Sampson